2013 SEC Football Preview

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse


Dec 3, 2011; Atlanta, GA, USA; A general view of the SEC logo at mid-field after the 2011 SEC championship game between the LSU Tigers and Georgia Bulldogs at the Georgia Dome. Mandatory Credit: Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sports

The SEC has won an astonishing seven consecutive BCS National Championships. Florida’s national title in 2006 began this incredible run that was continued with Alabama’s back-to-back championships over the past two seasons. With last year’s additions of Missouri and Texas A&M into the already dominant conference, the SEC picked up yet another title contender in the Aggies. The SEC is the greatest conference in the country due to it’s tremendous coaches and elite talent.

Five Things We Should Know

1.  Nick Saban is the best coach in college football.

2.  Alabama, Georgia, Florida, South Carolina, LSU, and Texas A&M will be BCS bowl game and National Championship contenders.

3.  Kevin Sumlin was a tremendous hire for Texas A&M last year.

4.  Kentucky will struggle this season.

5.  Johnny Manziel, A.J. McCarron, T.J. Yeldon, Jadaveon Clowney, and Aaron Murray will be Heisman Trophy contenders.

Five Bold Predictions for 2013

1.  Alabama will win it’s 3rd consecutive BCS National Championship.

2.  Johnny Manziel will win back-to-back Heisman Trophies.

3.  Alabama, Georgia, Texas A&M, and Tennessee will each have two 1,000 yard rushers.

4.  Missouri will fire head coach Gary Pinkel mid-season.

5.  Jadaveon Clowney will be invited to the Heisman ceremony.

Preseason 1st Team All-SEC                                  

QB  Johnny Manziel   RS SO  Texas A&M

RB  T.J. Yeldon  SO  Alabama

RB  Todd Gurley  SO  Georgia

WR  Amari Cooper  SO  Alabama

WR  Jordan Matthews  SR  Vanderbilt

WR  Donte Moncrief  JR  Ole Miss

TE  Arthur Lynch  SR  Georgia

OT  Antonio Richardson  JR  Tennessee

OT  Jake Matthews  SR  Texas A&M

C  James Stone  SR  Tennessee

OG  Gabe Jackson  SR  Mississippi State

OG  Anthony Steen  SR  Alabama

K  Casey Spear  SR  Vanderbilt

All-Purpose  Andre DeBose  SR  Florida

DT  Dominique Easley  SR  Florida

DT  Anthony Johnson  JR  LSU

DE  Jadaveon Clowney  JR  South Carolina

DE  Chris Smith  SR  Arkansas

LB  A.J. Johnson  JR  Tennessee

LB  C.J. Mosley  SR  Alabama

LB  Adrain Hubbard  JR  Alabama

CB  Andre Hal  SR  Vanderbilt

CB  Marcus Roberson  JR  Florida

S  Ha Ha Clinton-Dix  JR  Alabama

S  Craig Loston  SR  LSU

P  Steven Clark  SR  Auburn

Preseason 2nd Team All-SEC

QB  A.J. McCarron  SR  Alabama

RB  Keith Marshall  SO  Georgia

RB  LaDarius Perkins  SR  Mississippi State

WR  Mike Evans  SO  Texas A&M

WR  Malcolm Mitchell  JR  Georgia

WR  Dorial Green-Beckham  SO  Missouri

TE  Rory Anderson  JR  South Carolina

OT  Cyrus Kouandjio  JR  Alabama

OT  Wesley Johnson  SR  Vanderbilt

C  Travis Swanson  SR  Arkansas

OG  Zach Fulton  SR  Tennessee

OG  Aaron Morris  JR  Ole Miss

K  Zack Hocker  SR  Arkansas

All-Purpose  Marcus Murphy  JR  Missouri

DT  Daniel McCullers  SR  Tennessee

DT  Kelcy Quarles  JR  South Carolina

DE  C.J.  Johnson JR  Ole Miss

DE  Alvini Dupree  JR  Kentucky

LB  Lamin Barron  SR  LSU

LB  Jordan Jenkins  SO  Georgia

LB  Denzel Nkemdiche  SO  Ole Miss

CB  EJ Gaines  SR  Missouri

CB  Damian Swann  JR  Georgia

S  Nickoe Whitley  SR  Mississippi State

S  Byron Moore  SR  Tennessee

P  Kyle Christy  JR  Florida


Click next page for projected SEC standings and wins and losses for each team.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

comments powered by Disqus