Tennessee football: Vols OL Jashon Robertson on Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List

KNOXVILLE, TN - OCTOBER 25: Jashon Robertson
KNOXVILLE, TN - OCTOBER 25: Jashon Robertson /

Another Tennessee football player is garnering award talk. Volunteers offensive lineman Jashon Robertson is on the Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List.

Related Story: Tennessee football: Four reasons Vols could be better in 2017 than 2016

Tennessee football offensive lineman Jashon Robertson is the third Vols player on an official preseason watch list for a postseason award.

The senior offensive lineman is one of 81 players on the 2017 Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List.

More from Vols Football

Given annually to the nation’s best interior lineman, Robertson is among 60 offensive linemen on the list. The other 21 candidates are defensive tackles.

He’s also one of 11 SEC players on the list.

Robertson joins Trevor Daniel and Ethan Wolf as 2017 Tennessee football players on preseason watch lists.

He came to Tennessee in 2014 as a three-star defensive tackle but switched over to offensive lineman due to lack of depth. He immediately thrived in the positions and became the Vols best player up front, garnering freshman All-American and freshman All-SEC honors via different services.

His next two years, he was still a solid blocker. However, he struggled at times due to lingering injuries. As a senior, now fully healthy, he figures to be a major leader on the team.

And he could move around up front, as Butch Jones has tried him at center and offensive guard.

Tennessee football has had two Outland Trophy winners since the award’s beginning in 1946. And both were defensive tackles.

The first winner was Steve DeLong in 1964. But the most recent winner was John Henderson, who won it in 2000 and then came back in 2001 and nearly won it again.

Next: Peyton Manning's 5 funniest moments as ESPYS host

Then, the semifinalists will come down to six or seven people, announced on Wednesday, Nov. 15. And the names of the finalists will be revealed Tuesday, Nov. 21. Finally, the winner will be announced on ESPN at the College Football Awards show on Thursday, Dec. 7.